- Specialization
- Not classified
- Business
Agent Toolingand 1 more business valuesLess
- Software Applications
- Market
- Cross Industry
- Ecosystem
- Agents
- Customers
Small Businessesand 1 more customers valuesLess
- Enterprises
More details
- Organization type
- Commercial Company
- Ecosystem
- Agents
- Business
- Agent Tooling, Software Applications
- Specialization
- Not classified
- Market
- Cross Industry
- Customers
- Small Businesses, Enterprises
- Delivery models
- Open Source, Hosted Software, On Premise Software
- Revenue models
- Subscription, Usage Based
- Listing status
- Not classified
- Latest equity round
- Not classified
- Reported funding amount
- Not classified
About
Activepieces builds an AI-first, open-source, no-code automation platform that helps businesses and enterprise teams connect applications, build workflows, and deploy AI agents. Its main differentiators are MIT-licensed open-source software, self-hosting, integrations with existing systems, and enterprise controls such as approvals, security, and governance.
Market
Activepieces competes in the no-code business and workflow automation market, increasingly overlapping with AI-agent platforms that connect applications and automate cross-functional work. It positions itself as an open-source, AI-first alternative to proprietary automation suites, differentiating through MIT licensing and self-hosting, a TypeScript-based extensibility model, and enterprise-oriented approvals and security controls that help reduce vendor lock-in.
Activepieces targets organizations with cross-functional HR, finance, marketing, sales, operations, and IT workflows—especially enterprises and security-conscious teams that need governed automation on existing tools. The likely buyers are IT, automation, or operations leaders, while business teams use the workflows; self-hosting and security controls appeal to organizations requiring greater data and deployment control.
At a Glance
Problem
Teams spend substantial time moving information between business applications and repeating routine processes that do not justify custom engineering. The core pain is operational friction: connecting tools such as Slack, Airtable, Google Sheets, Notion, and Gmail manually consumes hours and creates a clear opportunity to reduce labor and response time. The main use case is automating these recurring cross-application workflows so work moves from one system to another without manual intervention.
The economics are especially relevant for organizations that need more automation but cannot justify expensive enterprise software or engineering projects. Activepieces positions self-hosting as a way to run unlimited tasks for free and its cloud product as materially cheaper than established alternatives, making repetitive-work automation accessible to smaller teams and cost-conscious enterprises.
Product / Service
Activepieces is an open-source, MIT-licensed, no-code business-automation platform. Users connect applications and assemble automated workflows through a visual, extensible system rather than writing bespoke integrations; its TypeScript-based “pieces” framework supplies reusable app connectors, and the company describes the product as AI-first, bringing AI into workflows and making contributed pieces available as MCP servers for use with LLMs.
The delivery model combines a self-hosted edition, which customers can deploy on their own servers, with Activepieces Cloud, a hosted subscription offering. This gives customers control and potentially unlimited low-cost execution when self-hosting, while the cloud option removes infrastructure work; in either model, the benefit is faster deployment of automations across teams and applications without requiring traditional software development.
Market
Activepieces competes in no-code and low-code business-process automation, increasingly overlapping with AI automation and open-source integration platforms. Its clearest named competitor is Zapier, which Activepieces explicitly presents itself as an open-source replacement for; the company also positions its cloud pricing against Workato. The product therefore differentiates through open-source licensing, self-hosting, extensibility, and AI/MCP capabilities rather than competing only as a hosted integration catalog.
The company was founded in 2022 and has public signs of early growth rather than being clearly pre-revenue: a company profile reports 28 employees, a $1 million–$5 million funding range, and 15,899 followers, while its YC profile references growing ARR. No ARR amount or customer-revenue figure is provided in the available evidence, so the strongest defensible conclusion is that Activepieces has established product and community traction with indicated recurring revenue, but its scale remains undisclosed.
Founders & Leadership
Funding History
Y Combinator
Accel (reported investor; lead status not disclosed), Foodics (reported investor; lead status not disclosed), Jawaker (reported investor; lead status not disclosed)
Recent News
Activepieces publicly listed its Activepieces Platform integration in September 2026. The integration lets users add the Activepieces Platform piece to a flow and connect their account once.
2sync describes Activepieces as an MIT-licensed, open-source automation platform built around reusable pieces and an AI-agent layer. The comparison provides recent independent coverage of Activepieces’ architecture and positioning.
An Apify comparison reported that Activepieces had more than 280 integrations covering common tools such as Slack, Google Sheets, Notion, HubSpot, Airtable, and OpenAI. The article positioned Activepieces as an open-source alternative to cloud automation platforms.
Activepieces listed itself among leading AI-agent platforms and described its offering as combining automation, integrations, and AI in one open-source platform. The post represents product positioning and ecosystem coverage rather than a named partnership announcement.
Active Roles
0No active roles right now.
Get notified when they postBusiness Model
Activepieces monetizes cloud and on-premise paid plans: Free, Plus at $16 per month billed yearly, Team at $166 per month billed yearly, and custom-priced Ultimate, with usage-based credits and paid overages. Its free Community Edition supports self-hosting, while paid plans add AI, collaboration, administration, governance, support, and embedding; embedded deployments start at $36,000 per year.