About
Pure operates a transparent, order-book marketplace for authenticated rare coins and precious metals, serving individual collectors, coin shops, dealers, and other buyers and sellers. Its differentiation is live market-driven pricing, lower premiums, in-house authentication and verification, secure checkout, and insured logistics.
Market
Pure competes in the online marketplace and trading market for rare coins and physical precious metals. It positions itself as a transparent order-book platform for authenticated bullion and certified coins, differentiating from conventional dealers, auctions, and peer-to-peer channels through backed bids, instant liquidity, secure checkout, insured shipping, and in-house verification.
Pure targets individual collectors and precious-metals stackers, as well as coin shops and online dealers. Buyers use it to acquire inventory or collection items, while sellers use it to liquidate unwanted or excess products with authenticated processing and marketplace liquidity.
At a Glance
Problem
Buying and selling physical precious metals and rare coins is fragmented, opaque, and operationally difficult. Consumers often do not know where to begin, while conventional retailers can charge premiums of roughly 10–30% above spot prices. Sellers also face recurring problems with shipping, payment, liquidity, and authenticity verification when using channels such as eBay, auctions, Facebook, or Reddit. Pure’s main use case is to let dealers, collectors, wholesalers, and individuals efficiently sell unwanted or excess inventory—or acquire supply for customer orders, business inventory, or personal holdings.
Product / Service
Pure is an order-book-style marketplace for authenticated bullion and certified coins. Products trade through visible bids and asks, similar to a stock exchange: buyers can accept the lowest ask or place a bid, while sellers can accept the highest bid or place an ask. The marketplace aggregates activity across regularly traded product “tickers,” with physical metal moving to fulfill the resulting orders. By exposing premiums, spot prices, quantities, and market pricing, Pure says it can reduce premiums to roughly 3–5% in relevant products.
Pure also operates the physical verification and fulfillment layer. Items sold through the platform are sent to its Los Angeles facility, where staff verify precious metals using XRF technology and authenticate certified numismatic products using scanning software. Sellers receive prepaid, insured shipping labels, and payment is released automatically after receipt and verification through ACH, eCheck, or eligible wire transfers. The result is a marketplace designed to combine transparent pricing and liquidity with secure checkout, insured logistics, and an authenticity guarantee.
Market
Pure competes in the online marketplace and fintech infrastructure category for rare coins and precious metals, which its Y Combinator profile characterizes as an $11 billion rare-coins sector and a $55 billion precious-metals sector. Its alternatives include general-purpose peer-to-peer channels such as eBay and Reddit, auctions, and traditional gold brokers, as well as established online precious-metals dealers. Pure’s differentiation is the order-book model and the combination of market transparency, authenticated physical settlement, and seller liquidity rather than a conventional dealer-only storefront.
The company appears active and operating rather than pre-revenue. Y Combinator lists Pure as an active Summer 2023 company with a 13-person team, while Pure’s current marketplace page displays hundreds of products and substantial aggregate bid and ask value. Public Pure hiring materials state that the company processes more than $50 million in transactions per month, and PitchBook reports $16.1 million in total funding. These figures indicate meaningful transaction activity and institutional backing, although the available evidence does not disclose revenue, profitability, or audited marketplace volume.
Founders & Leadership
Funding History
Y Combinator, Pioneer Fund
Not publicly disclosed
Recent News
Collect Pure compared its order-book marketplace model with JM Bullion’s dealer model for buyers and sellers. The article emphasizes transparent pricing and the ability for users to set prices and view the full order book.
Pure published release information about the limited-edition 2026 American Eagle one-ounce gold coin, commemorating the 250th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence. The coin features dual dates, a Liberty Bell privy mark, and an Enhanced Uncirculated finish.
Pure covered the 2026 American Buffalo one-ounce gold proof coin, a 24-karat gold collector product. The article noted the U.S. Mint’s May 7, 2026 release date and provided guidance for purchasing on release day.
Pure published release details for the 2026 American Eagle one-ounce silver Enhanced Uncirculated coin and identified April 17, 2026 as the U.S. Mint release date.
Pure introduced its Vault System for beta users, allowing precious metals to be stored in Pure’s secure facility rather than shipped immediately. Users can manage vaulted metals, list or transfer them, and request delivery later.
Pure published information about the 2026 U.S. Mint Congratulations Set, which includes an American Eagle Proof Silver Dollar. The article highlighted its $175 price, 60,000-set mintage, and February 26, 2026 release date.
Pure published shipping guidance for sellers sending multiple coins or bars, covering safe packing, boxes, labels, and protective materials.
Pure covered the 2025 laser-engraved American Eagle one-ounce silver proof coin, including its first-of-its-kind laser-engraved privy mark. The article reported a $105 price, 100,000-coin mintage, and an August 20, 2025 U.S. Mint release date.
Pure published a guide for sellers shipping sealed U.S. Mint products, explaining how to pack items so they arrive safely and in original condition.
Active Roles
3Business Model
Pure operates a two-sided order-book marketplace where buyers pay no marketplace fee and sellers pay transaction fees that vary by product category. The documented starting rate is 0.75% for bullion, with higher rates for other categories such as numismatic products.